“Hot enough for ya?”

People get annoyed with that question, but, really, what else is there to talk about these days?  A heat “dome” has settled over much of the country and now I’m learning a heat index of 115 feels like a mix of madness with just a hint of mayhem.  As much as I feel like reminiscing about all my summertime memories–like eating Country Time Lemonade mix right out of the canister when I was ten or the night we found all these dead tadpoles in the pool at the apartment complex where my dad lived–I’m going to keep this post short so I can go back to sitting in front of the fan.

The Beast is particularly sensitive to the heat.  His size and pushed-in nose cause all sorts of complications for him.  We’re constantly seeking out new ways to cool him down–a cooling pet bed, rubbing alcohol or peppermint oil on his ears and paws.  Finally, we took him to the dog beach today.

And on the way home, he stopped to wet his whistle NYC-style.

As for us, we’re eating scoop after scoop of my homemade watermelon granita.

  • 5 cups watermelon
  • 1/3 cup agave (it’s a natural sugar substitute with a lower glycemic index.  I use it in everything from ice tea to morning smoothies to marinades.)
  • Juice of one lime

Put it all in a blender and press “annihilate.”  Then pour the mixture into a ceramic dish and stick in the freezer.  Check on it every 30-45 minutes and stir/scrape it with a fork.  Eventually, ice crystals will form and you’ll cool down within minutes.  It’s so easy and refreshing, even the Hubs could make.  I’m serious, Hubs, go make some more, please.

Stay cool, everybody!

